top of page
Search
  • empowerinnocent

Poem: 'A poem for Babatunde Olagunju' by Patrick Lockerby

Babatunde Olagunju


Rhyme, But No Reason


I have been struck

most forcefully

by all the niceties of law

and lawmen's fists.


And I am innocent, unfairly tried.


I have been charged

outrageously

with causing bodily harm

but my own body felt the harm.


And I am innocent, unfairly tried.


I have been tried

Oh! Sorely tried


Unfairly tried

By judge. And jury?


The jury judged the judge

they judged him fair

they heard his words.


Upon my word he took away my words.

that I am innocent, and wrongly tried.


I said I was the victim in this plot

I said it plain as day

I said it many times


I laid no hand on any man

'though hands were laid on me.

And I am innocent, and wrongly tried.


In summing up his case, not mine,

the judge ignored my words

gave evidence entirely of his own device


I had laid on first hands, said he, the jury need not think

perhaps the others struck first blow

these officers whose character must yet be good;

(For are they not upholders of the law?), and hence it must be so,

'Though I am innocent, a victim of their crime.


My gamecock barrister fought well, but all in vain

uphill. Nay! Vertical his climb

to show me as the victim. Said the judge:


"I do not think that this is what has happened here"

that I, an innocent, was victim of their crime.


Innocent, convicted, tainted by lies

and fabrications, perjury and more

then, from my prison cell, I asked for legal aid.


Refused! "You must await the outcome of your trial"

so nonsense triumphs over innocence

and I am innocent, victim of rough justice

And most biting satire masquerades as justice in its very halls.


These too long years of struggle

could make a man go mad

except he is so certain

he is the lonely island in an ocean of insanity.


"There is no wrong found in the judge's words", they say

"Why, then, deny your guilt?"

the jury found you guilty

No! Not them, the judge!

'twas he who said I lied

'twas he who said the officers were in the right

they had the right of self-defence, and I

Why! And it were not false arrest I had no rights!

I, the victim, had no rights

('though I it was that they assailed by force)


The judge gave evidence himself it had not happened thus.

(He was not there that day, but as a judge he must indeed be right!)


These many years of doors slammed in my face:

No access as of right

to justice, but by leave.

But no judge gave me leave to speak these many years.

And now: "Why take so long?" they ask,

"Why let the years slip by?"

And so for time's dear sake, not justice, thus is leave denied

Yet I have need for no man's leave to say that I am innocent.


And so the law is changed

its fairness stifled, truth is gagged

a judge may speak his mind to any jury,

truth or no; there are no rules.

And if a judge should blind and bind the jury

with his own view of fact,

with his own evidence freely given

the new rule says that this is fair.


And so: "Is justice dead through all this land?"


Goodnight, sweet jurisprudence!

You have served your land in faith

in goodness and in mercy

Sleep well, until good men awaken you to judge in truth and mercy.

Then they, not I alone, shall say

that I am innocent, and was most wrongly and unfairly tried


Patrick Lockerby

83 views0 comments

Comentários


Os comentários foram desativados.
bottom of page