top of page
Search
  • empowerinnocent

Poem: 'Fact from the Fiction' by Not a Number


'Robin Garbutt' by Sean Bw Parker


Fact from the Fiction


Wafting round me like a toxic smoke

following me always as a long black cloak.

The horrific takes hold, for I don’t know why

firing me to this point – where I almost died.


I cannot digest it, can’t make it make sense.

There must be a reason, and it must be immense.

Did they really believe that they romantically loved me?

Could they have thought that? Was their experience ‘true’ psychologically?


Maybe of course they have really suffered

at the hands of a man who they thought mattered.

If so, then we need to offer compassion.

Though misdirected, the stories were rational.


Surely the law needs to be able to root out

the fact from the fiction, though I don’t know how

because we’re in a time where all complainers will be believed

and tragically for all, justice cannot be achieved.


Not A Number

113 views0 comments

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page