top of page
Search
  • empowerinnocent

Poem: 'The Damage Has Been Done' by not a Number

'Luke Mitchell, PMI, (2023)' by Sean Bw Parker


The Damage Has Been Done


What is this feeling that’s destroying my me?

The grinding that’s eating away, constantly

The bones of my soul consumed by a gnawing

Like a parasitic being, my happiness collapsing.


The catastrophic effect of a catalogue of efforts

Ripping me apart like a circus of terrors.

It’s now out of control and my strength is in bits

When emotions cross the line and I can take no more hits.


There used to be a distance, a barrier truly tangible

Between that which is a thought and that which is physical,

A protective layer that enveloped my psyche.

I was healthy then, and felt truly mighty.


However now I’ve changed as a result of a war

That had to be fought, but the efforts are too sore

Of the collateral damage on this innocent one.

I am now truly broken; the damage has been done.


Not A Number

93 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page