top of page
Search
  • empowerinnocent

Poem: 'The Wizard' by Not a Number

'Dartmoor still life' by Sean Bw Parker



The Wizard


My door is open if you forgot about the lock

I am not late if you ignore the clock

My world is like if you forgot about the weight

My life is happy if you ignore the hate


I’m driving fast if you forgot about the slow

I’m climbing high if you ignore the low

It’s not drowning if you forget about the water

I was there, if you ignore the data


If you use every trick up your wizard-like sleeves

If you silence the contrary and bring justice to its knees

You can get what you want – a conviction no matter what

But you’ll be abandoning the principles for which many have fought


I will not describe the harm you have done

It’s far more than could be caused by a sword or a gun

You’ve ruined countless lives for the sake of…what?

An agenda? An ego? Well I know what it’s not


It’s not the truth, it’s not right

It’s not ethical, it’s maybe spite

It’s the perpetuation of a moral panic

All you’ve achieved is to make it more manic


Not A Number

April 2024

90 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Komentarze


Komentowanie zostało wyłączone.
bottom of page