top of page
Search
  • empowerinnocent

My life has been destroyed due to the police using false data: A Commando's Story




I am a former Royal Marine Commando. I left in 2010 and have since worked in senior management and Director roles in security risk management for governments worldwide, including confidential operations for the USA government, as well as for the United Nations and some large international companies.


I am also a voluntary nurse, paramedic and disaster reduction agent for the Red Cross and other NGO's - with a strong professional career including speaking three languages. I have a Bachelors and a Masters Degree. I am now 40 years old. All of this was nearly taken away from me due to misleading and/or false information in police data.


My wife is from Latin America. She is a nice lady but has suffered from mental health issues since a child. She comes from a very dangerous area in Guatemala and grew up in a shed-type house without a proper toilet or shower. She sometimes gets jealous and has episodes.


Since we met 12 years ago, she has called the police three times. However, the police lied on prosecution documents and claimed domestic violence on several occasions. None of these incidents had any violence or abuse on my part. The police also lied on my prosecution documents by stating I had convictions. I only have two cautions. One was for fighting when a gang of eight males attacked me with bricks 25 years ago when I was 15 years old.


I was also abused in jail by a nurse who refused to give me the correct inhaler for my asthma or let me see a Doctor.


2015 – My wife called the police to complain that I work away from home too much and she wanted me back. The police claimed this was domestic violence on my part.


2020 - My wife called the police as she argued with my brother during a family BBQ. My brother told her that the house was not in her name, so she got angry and called the police to complain. The officer that attended agreed that this was not a police issue, but a non-violent family dispute between wife and brother. However, the police claimed on my recent prosecution documents that this was a domestic violence case on my part.


2022 - My wife accused me of flirting with another woman, so she got angry and called the police. This time she invented lots of lies to get me arrested. She knew from previous occasions that the police had told her that 999 is not a line for general disputes, so she didn't want to be accused again of wasting police time. I was arrested for a non-physical common assault. My wife said I verbally threatened her.


The police then lied on the prosecution documents - they said that there were several cases of domestic violence against me, which was a complete lie. I have solid evidence of the above, including videos, phone recordings, court documents and witness statements including my wife admitting to police that she only called them to 'Get one over me due to jealousy'.


The police also said on prosecution documents that I have two convictions against me, which again was a complete lie. When I was fifteen years old a gang of males attacked me with bricks, but I managed to hit one of them during the struggle. The police came and arrested us all and cautioned all of us for fighting - this was 25 years ago. I have copies of all my police data which proves I have zero convictions.


My wife admitted the following day to the police - once she calmed down - that her statements were false; however, the police ignored her and continued to charge me for common assault, took me to court and set a trial date. My wife had to call the police every day for three weeks until they finally agreed to tell the Crown Prosecution Service (CPS) that they had made a mistake and charged an innocent man.


In the process, the police also told my wife to continue with the false statement and lie in court. My wife has made an official complaint to the police because they told her to commit perjury, but it has been ignored and they are still refusing to correct my data.


Although I have been released from jail and all charges have been dropped, my life has been destroyed due to the police using false data. I lost my job, social services told me I couldn't be with my family, as well as defaming me to other authorities. The social services also used this false data to apply a child protection plan which will result in court proceedings against me - as I refuse to accept a plan based on lies.

I would like to expose this police behaviour, as my heart goes out to the innocent people in jail, and unless the country's civilians stand up to police impunity, nothing will ever change.


The response from the police complaints team said that there is 'Nothing they can do' about my case and they denied accepting liability. This is despite the fact that they intentionally used false evidence in an attempt to keep me in jail.


Chris Exley


Please let us know if you think that there is a mistake in this article, explaining what you think is wrong and why. We will correct any errors as soon as possible.


75 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page